WHYYYYYYYY?!!! *Kenan Voice*

Romans was written by Paul, who is my favorite man of God in the bible. I actually think we would have been friends had I known him way back when. He could have been my husband for all I know! LOL He was stern, but loving. Passionate and zealous for God, yet maintained his relationships with people. He was a mighty good man, with a past worth side-eyeing, but God made him a new creature. Paul is my dude! To the subject at hand….I’m completely, 100%, no doubt about it with Paul and his assertions in Romans 7. I’m just as baffled as he is, why do I do what I don’t want to do?! Let’s explore this chapter.

“For I do not understand my own actions [ I am baffled and bewildered.] I do not practice or accomplish what I wish, but I do the very thing that I loathe [which my moral instinct condems].For what I do is not the good, I want to do, it is no longer I who do it , but it is sin living in me that does it.” Romans 7:15,19

I am a God fearing Woman Sinner. There are some things, which I am not at complete liberty to reveal about myself, through which God has worked, almost completely out of me….yet I creep *cue TLC…I dance*. This thing These things I do, are often times preceded by statements that sound like this: You know you wrong! Whyyyyyy?! Don’t do it, please don’t do it, if one of us goes in then we all go through it (I think that one is the Holy Spirit, definitely ain’t Drake!). These are met by promptings to pray, which I may or may not ignore. If I do follow through they are half-hearted prayers through which I know I’m probably going to end up doing it anyways so… Girl you fake! I feel like a failure.

I’ll just throw it out there….I don’t fully know God [perceive, recognize, understand and am acquainted with Him] 1 John 2:4, but I can say I am getting to know Him more and more everyday. He has transformed me from the inside out in ways where I look back at the old me and I’m like whoooo are you?!! I digress, but ” I know that nothing good dwells within me, that is, in my flesh. I can will what is right, but I cannot perform it. [ I have the intention and urge to do what is right, but no power to carry it out].” Romans 7:18 In Romans, Paul explores the differences between life under the law and what a life in Christ offers.

LAW                                                            CHRIST                              

*Life dictated by Flesh vs. 5 * Life dictated by spirit
*Operated by natural power (wills of flesh) vs. 5 * Operated  by Holy Spirit (promptings of spirit)
*Bears fruit of death vs.9 * Bears fruit of Life
*Reliance on self to carry out; usually ends in failure *Reliance on Christ who enables success
*Helps me recognize that I sin *Offers me salvation, justification and righteousness before God despite my sin
*Sin lives *Sin dies
*Holy, Just and Good *Holy, Just and Good

I’m finding that I am still operating as if the law is my master and not Christ.

Paul pretty much has an epiphany towards the end of Romans chapter 7, through which I also delight myself in and that is I have two opposing spirits dwelling within me; Sin and the Holy Spirit [ Law of God]. My new nature–Christ which now lives inside of me (Holy Spirit), supports and finds joy in God’s law, BUT my flesh [body, wills of flesh] finds itself subjected to an opposing set of evil demands–ie. the things I do in secret, which I am ashamed of, in light of my status as CHRISTIAN.

I join Paul, crying out O unhappy and pitiable and wretched man girl get your life! Who will release me from this body of death?! Romans 7:24 We rejoice together saying Thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. I have a deliverer who, by His Spirit, offers life and freedom from this bondage of sin!

I’m trying to do right ya’l. Next post will be an exploration of Romans 8, which discusses this Life through the Spirit!!!

3 thoughts on “WHYYYYYYYY?!!! *Kenan Voice*

  1. God is good all time and all the time God is good. God has a plan for all of us, we just have to start listening to him. I feel u are on your way to helping a mass of people get saved. We all have to be strong and learn how to stomp the devil off. I love you. Please cont. Pray and thank God for his mercy.

Leave a Reply

