I’ve made up my mind.

Recap: READ THE LAST POST!

I can not stress enough how important our minds are. I have truly discovered through my own personal study, as well as personal experience, that our minds are significant avenues for things good (Holy) and bad (unholy).  The things we think on/meditate on influence a GREAT deal of our lives and the things we do.  People walk around this earth, daily, with thoughts centered on everything from paranoia, lust, hate, love, sadness, self pity, obsessions, butterflies, aliens, themselves, Santa clause! Lol I don’t know….I mean just think of the millions of thoughts that pass through your mind on a daily. It’s crazy!

What we fail to realize is that our minds are a FIRST STOP SHOP (I’ve never used that phrase before o_O) for attack/distractions from our pursuit of righteousness before God. By our belief in Christ, we already stand righteous before God, but Christ wants to transform us into His likeness. When He begins a good work He WILL see it through to completion. (Philippians 1:6) God’s not about turning us into “a overnight celebrity” (twista ain’t nobody)…  He’s about process, transformation and lasting change.

TAKE A LOOK AT THIS:

Thoughts produce Actions

Actions produce Habits

Habits produce lifestyles                       Really think this through……………………I’ll wait!

Here are some truths that my mind has fixed itself on and have reinforced and encouraged my new life:

  • I have accepted that I, because of my belief in the saving Christ, now find my whole identity in Christ because God’s word says: I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. Galatians 2:20

I am not defined by what I have done! I am not my job, I am not my skin color, I am not my talent, I am not my mistakes. I am a child of God. That is it, end of story.

  • Notice that the previous verse (Galatians 2:20) says the life I now live IN the flesh I live BY faith. Just because we wear earthly forms of flesh does not mean we must live BY our flesh [sinful nature, desires]. God gives us something new to put on, while we live in these bodies. (Romans 13:14)
  • Because I find my identity in Christ, God’s word goes on to tell me that: Whoever is a believer in Christ is a new creation. The old way of living has disappeared. A new way of living has come into existence.  2 Corinthians 5:17

This new living that has now come to existence, through Christ, is the fruit of a Spirit led life (life led by Christ). When we fully agree/believe in our minds who God says we are now, by faith in His son, we are accepting responsibility for following after HIM and not our flesh… as we have been talking about, all up and through Romans 8 [see post 2]. We learned that we aren’t under the power of sin/flesh anymore, but under the power and righteous movements of the Spirit of the LIVING GOD! The fruit (manifestation/birth of that which has been planted) of a Spirit led life is this: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. (Galatians 5:22-23)

Galatians 5:22-23 is God’s blueprint for how we can see that He is working in our lives. Self control for me has probably been one of the harder, more difficult fruits for me to maintain. (Mostly because I try to do it on my own without fully submitting to the God, but that’s another story for another time, and GOD is able!  #Hallelujah)

 To all of us in the struggle: The most beautiful thing about a relationship with God is that He is NEVER FORCEFUL, He is the first one to give us freedom, the very idea of freedom comes from Him! He leads, guides, whispers, prompts until we respond. OUR RESPONSE IS OUR FAITH. OUR ACTION is FAITH.

 What I really want to say is: God is never going to force you to do anything you don’t first WANT TO DO.  The only force I see making people manic, out of control, impulsive and destructive is the force of the devil and we already know what that fool is on: STEALIN’, KILLIN’ AND DESTROYIN’ #NOg! (John 10:10) God doesn’t force he leads. That’s why we must be careful to fill ourselves with His word (READ YOUR BIBLE) so that we can TUNE IN to His voice, and KNOW it’s Him because it won’t be the first time we have been acquainted with it. God will never tell us, or lead us anywhere that is not first in His word.

Paul tells us in Romans 12:2 Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will come to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.

God wants us thinking on things that are true, noble, just, pure, lovely, things of good report, virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate [think] on these things. (Philippians 4:8)

God also promises that he will keep us in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Him, because he trusts in Him.(Isaiah 26:3)

I literally could go in, with examples from real life witnessing, for Christ, how true these very verses are.

BUT

I’m going try something from elementary school o_O: comparing and contrasting. Lol

Mind stayed on worldly things                               Topic                                      Mind stayed on God

I have no money for school, I’m definitely not going to be enrolled this semester. My dad just lost his job too! What are we going to do?! I feel like a failure!” WORRYMeans:

Torment

Concern

Distress

Anxious

Trouble

 

 

I am stressing. Let me pray because God’s word says “ Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication, make your requests known to God. And the PEACE of God which surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus! (Philippians 4:6-7)
“We really love each other! We want to get married soon and it’s not like I’ve never done it before. I am no virgin, by any means! Lol The more time we spend together, its really hard not too. I really love them and we want to express our love to one another!”“Let me stop beating around the bush! I’m horney. I haven’t had sex in months and ____ is fine! I don’t like them like that, but that’s beside the point!” SEX/SEXUALITYMeans:

Heck ya’l know what I’m talking about. lol

 

 

I really do love this person, but I LOVE God more. God has called me holiness (1 Peter 1:14-15) before Him and I believe with my whole heart what His word says about me. I have been told to flee from sexual immorality. Every other sin a person commits outside of their body, but the sexually immoral sins against their own body. I know that my body is a temple of the HOLY SPIRIT within me, whom I have from GOD. I am not my own. I was bought at a price. I will honor God with my body! (1 Corinthians 6:18-20)
I already knew ____ was a hater, but now that I know _____ was talking mess, it’s over!”“I’m just gon’ ignore ______  too much drama that way!”

“I’m fighting _____tomorrow! No words that need to be exchanged! ____said enough!

ANGER/OFFENSEMeans:

Violation

Transgression

Wrong-doing

Provoke

 

You know what it means to be angry!

 

“Do not take to heart all the things that people say, lest you hear them cursing you. Your heart knows the MANY times you yourself have cursed others” (Ecclesiastes 7:21-22)Wooooosaaaaaahhhhh.

 

“I have no idea what I want to do with my life, even though I can’t stand this job, I need the money”“I’ve always been told I was a good artist but ____’s work is much better than mine. I don’t know if this is for me” CAREER/PURPOSEMeans:

Design

Aim

Intend

Commit

Set sights on

Make up one’s mind

 

 

 

“For I know that plans I have for you” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you,  plans to give you hope and a future”(Jeremiah 29:11).“The Lord WILL fulfill His purpose for me, your steadfast love O Lord, endures forever! Do not forsake the work of your hands”(Psalms 138:8)

God’s word says that “I am his workmanship, created in Christ for good works, which God prepared beforehand , that I should walk in them” (Eph. 2:10)

This is a very complex struggle, that we don’t often want to face or identify. It speaks loud to the interactions we have with others, the relationships we allow in our lives that are not fruitful or God glorifying. The things we do for show or in order to win worldly (others/people) favor. ACCEPTANCE/SELF-ESTEEMMeans:

Act of recognizing truth

Approval

Confirmation

Embracing

Adoption

Belief in self integrity

Self confidence

Self love

 

I can not begin to tell you how SIGNIFICANT you are in the Kingdom of God!!! I often wonder why we get caught up in the worldly prestige’s when God’s opinions of us should be the only thing we ever strive for living up to!

  1. God has called us priests (1 Peter 2:9)
  2. Told us that we sit in heavenly places (Ephesians 2:6)
  3. Called us Heirs to His Kingdom!!!!! (Romans 8:17)

If only we really believed these truths with our whole hearts!

 

My testimony, as a young, single, sexual woman is that like Janet Jackson, I get soo lonely *snapping fingers* lol. I mean we all feel that from time to time, some more than others. We desire romantic companionship from people and often times find ourselves getting into temporary relationships with people trying to fulfill those inner needs, that need an eternal answer. You get to that point, relationship after relationship like this ain’t working. This is not what I really want. LOVE/INTIMACYCommunion

Familiarity

Friendship

Affinity

Fellowship

Adoration

Devotion

Hold dear

idolize

 

The irony about life is that we are living in temporary bodies with souls that yearn/desire/are designed for eternal fulfillment. These desires can only be filled with a force mighty and loving and strong enough to fill our hearts, that is Christ our God.WE are called to first love God then love people. We can not give to others from a half-hearted love toward God. He is the refill we need when other’s, because they are human, began to deplete our resources. A heart who puts all its hope in God will never run dry (psalms 33:22). God says that the one who believes in Him will have living waters flow from their heart (John 7:38).

When I began to transfer my hope from people and things to the almighty God I was ok whether I had someone to call “boo” or I was single. Either way I know God will always love me. I commune with Him in prayer and in worship and He fills those innermost spaces with Joy and Peace before Him!

“I didn’t start it, so ____can approach me”“I’m just gon’ leave it alone”

“It’s whatever to _____, they made their bed, soooo….”

“Honestly I rather just forget about________”

PEACE/RECONCILIATIONMeans:

Compromise

Harmony

Good vibes

Conformity

Treaty

Truce

Love

“I’m gonna try talking to ____ first. God called me a peacemaker (Matthew 5:9). That means I gotta be proactive about MAKING peace, even if ________I didn’t start drama!”“Ok breathe! Before I approach _____ I have to come correct God said “Always be humble and gentle. Be patient with each other making allowance for each other’s faults because of my love. Make every effort to keep each other united in the Spirit, binding ourselves together with peace.” (Eph. 4:2-3) Ummmma Holy Spirit I’m gonna need you speak through me on this one! I ain’t got it in me lol *starts singing, Jesus be a fence*
Fear comes in so many forms through out our lives.It begs us to give up

Exhorts us that we can’t

Laughs when we say “next time”

Tries to trip us when we take a step (notice I said TRIES! LOL)

Fear will keep you from EVERYTHING if you let it!

FEARMeans:

Cowardice

Timidity

Apprehensiveness

Doubt

Anxiety

For God has not given us the spirit of fear, but of POWER, LOVE and a SOUND MIND! (2 Timothy 1:7) Plain and simple whenever we feel feelings of fear, its NOT from the Spirit of God. Don’t react to it, that’s not a prompting from Him, so don’t try clinging to that feeling as an excuse for why you didn’t do something! EVER!God also says “Fear NOT, be not dismayed , For I am YOUR GOD, I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10)

When we are scared we need to tell fear “when I am afraid, I put my trust in You [God]. In God, whose WORD I praise, in God I trust; I shall NOT be afraid. What can flesh do to me?!” (Psalms 56:3-4)

There are sooo man verses I could go on. I’m sitting here encouraging  myself!!!!

↑Please revisit Isaiah 26:3 and tell me which side creates the most peace?!↑

When we really see and believe what God is for us by grace through Jesus Christ and through His powerful word, the power of wrong desires is broken!!!!

Concluding Remarks:

Hebrews 4:12 has to say this about God’s word.

For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

 

 Romans 8:6 tells us that “The mind of the sinful man is death”. Death in this sense is not physical. I looked up a biblical definition of death: it means SEPARATION (detachment, disconnection, estrangement). You know that feeling when God feels so far away from you and your immediate problems…. like He could care less about what’s going on in your world?! I have felt that before, but it was all in my MIND because a MIND stayed on God reminded me that “nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow–not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love” (Romans 8:38)

So let me ask you this. Are the things you think about and believe (things you put your faith in, trust in and all confidence in) about yourself, about your God, about His love for you, about His purposes for you, about your family causing further you to feel separation or reconciliation towards God?!

MAKE UP YOUR MIND!

Leave a Reply

